Thoughts on Writing

I came across a post by Donna Gamble posted on the Guide to Literary Agents blog and I thought she had some good advice. Click above to read the whole post, but here’s my favorite of the 7 pointers she gives:

7. Don’t underestimate yourself. If you told me three years ago I would have a novel written and ready for agents before my twenty-fourth birthday, I would’ve laughed at you. If you’d told me about Magnetic Kama Sutra, I would’ve fallen off my chair. You never know what you can achieve. Call yourself an author. Treat your writing goals seriously. Trust yourself. Embrace the learning process. You’ll get there!

This one, I think, is especially important because it seems critical to internally validate your efforts. Saying, for instance, “Oh, I just like to write, but I haven’t published anything” feels different than saying, “I’m an aspiring novelist currently working on such and such.” Give yourself the confidence to call yourself an author and you will be on your way to “being” an author.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Thoughts on Writing”


  1. good advice, very positive!!!

    Sierra Michaels
    author of Intimate Encounters
    http://www.sierramichaels.com


Leave a Reply

